Cuttin’ Headz bosses The Martinez Brothers have enlisted Jesse Calosso to take care of A&R for a new sub label, Boogeyman. The imprint kicks off with a killer 10 track compilation from artists old and new that sets out a fine statement of intent. 

Aaron D opens up with nice deep cut with slick drums on Planet Mars and then things pick up with the much more twitchy and electric Raw Life from AJ Christou and Gabriel Torres. Two veterans then link in the shape of Matt Tolfrey and Alex Arnout for a nice after hours house cut that is super silky and Blas Cordero ups the ante with a more high pressure, stripped back and driving cut for the peak time. 

The music here suggests this label will be about club ready sounds but with depth and soul – future machine sounds and contemporary styles. The likes of Jaden Thompson and Jean Pierre prove that with their nice stylish cuts and Joey Daniel also offers a crisp cut with ripped out energy and sci-fi pads. The Martinez Brothers bring their huge, hefty drums to Backyard Boogie, complete with yelping vocals, and Evry Tyme by Vic Damone Jnr closes out the show in style. 

This is an on point collection of tunes that suggest this label is going to be vital as we head into 2021 and beyond. 


Buy it here